What is the difference between a state and a union territory?

There are total nine union territories in India, out of which 4, i.e. Jammu and Kashmir, ladakh, Delhi, and Puducherry, India is one of the largest countries in the world and the administrative powers and responsibilities of the state are divided among central politics and respective units in the phase of states and union territories.

When it comes to administrative divisions of the country, after the inclusion of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh there is total of 28 states and 9 Union Territories. If you are confused about the remainder between a state of matter and a union territory, this article will help you understand the concept better .

What is a state?

When talking about the deviation between a state and a union territory, a country is a division under indian constituency, which has a discriminate government. States are explained as the administrative unit of measurement that has its elect government, which has the right to frame its laws. It has its own legislative assembly and the Chief Minister, for administration. The Governor acts as the spokesperson of the President, in states. There is a distribution of autonomous legislative and administrator powers between the Centre and state of matter, regarding the district of that state. unlike states vary in size, demography, history, dressing style, culture, language, tradition and so on. Prior to independence, there were two kinds of states in India, i.e. Provinces and Princely states, wherein provinces are under the manipulate of british Government while the Princely states are ruled by the ancestral rulers .

What is union territory?

Union Territories are ruled directly by the Central Government has a deputy Governor as an administrator, who is the spokesperson of the President of India and appointed by the cardinal government. Union Territories have no representation in the Rajya Sabha except Delhi and Puducherry.

Union Territory is a small administrative whole that is ruled by the Union. The Union Territories are controlled and administered directly by the central Government. To sum up in childlike words the basic deviation between state and union territory is that, a state has a separate governing body whereas, an union district is immediately governed by the central government or union government .

History of union territories

During the discussion on reorganization of states in 1956, the States Reorganisation Commission recommended universe of a different category for these territories since they neither fit the model of a state nor do they follow a uniform practice when it comes to governance. It was observed that these economically unbalanced, financially weak, and administratively and politically unstable territories can ’ thymine survive as discriminate administrative units without depending heavily on the Union government. Considering all the reasons union district was formed. Andaman and Nicobar island was the first union territory of India, Chandigarh is the roast capital of Punjab and Haryana state of India .

How Delhi and Puducherry are different from other union territories?

In India, all the states and three union territories, i.e. Puducherry, Delhi, and Jammu and Kashmir possess elected legislature and government. There are entire nine union territories in India, out of which 3, i.e. Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry, have their elected members and the Chief Minister, as these are granted with partial derivative statehood, by amendment to the Constitution.

These two possess their own legislative assembly and executive council and operate like states. The remaining union territories are controlled and regulated by the Union of the country, that ’ s why named as union territory .

Union territories of India

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Chandigarh
  • Daman and Diu
  • Lakshadweep
  • Puducherry
  • Delhi
  • Ladakh
  • Jammu and Kashmir

Read: Why is Article 15 important for India? Read: J&K to be a union territory with legislature, Ladakh to be without: What is the difference?

reservoir : https://livingcorner.com.au
Category : What is?