Monocots vs Dicots

next →
← prev

Difference between Monocots and Dicots

Angiosperms, which are known as flowering plants, are divided into two divide groups : Monocots and Dicots. Though both are flowering plants, they differ from each early in their basic typography. The basis for the classification of angiosperms into monocots and dicots is the total of cotyledons salute in these two groups of plants. The seeded player of monocots has one cotyledon, whereas seed of dicots has two cotyledons. A cotyledon is the central part of the seed embryo which has epicotyls ( immature shoot ) and radical ( immature beginning ). Let us see how monocots differ from dicots .


Monocots, which are besides known as monocotyledons, refer to the blossoming plants which have merely one seeded player leaf or embryonic leaf ( cotyledon ) inside the seed coat. A cotyledon is the first park blade which emerges from the seed upon germination. It contains the sugars and other nutrients required for the growth until the leaf is able to make food through photosynthesis .
Monocots comprise about 67000 species which accounts for one-fourth of the all blossoming plants. They include grass kin ( Poaceae ), orchid syndicate ( Orchidaceae ), sedge family ( Cyperaceae ) vitamin a well as palms, lilies and more. In summation to single cotyledon, some other characteristic features of monocots include an agreement of vascular tissues in the root. The vascular bundles of monocots are scattered throughout the stem, they are not arranged in rings around the periphery of the stem turn as in dicots. Some coarse examples of dicots that we normally see around are as follows :

  • Wheat
  • Corn
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Rice
  • Asparagus
  • Sugarcane
  • Grass etc.


Dicots, which are besides known as dicotyledons, refer to the blossoming plants which have two seed leaves or embryonic leaves ( cotyledons ) inside the seed coat. In other words, plants with two cotyledons in their embryo are termed as dicots or dicotyledons. Most of the plants that we see about are dicots. There are around 199,350 unlike species of dicots which include different families such as Myrtaceae, Asteraceae, Proteaceae, Leguminosae and more. In accession to two cotyledons, dicots have versatile early characteristic features such as vascular bundles are arranged in circular rings around the periphery of the shank, fibrous and post roots, veins in the leaves form a branch convention, etc. Some common examples of dicots that we normally see around are as follows :

Bạn đang đọc: Monocots vs Dicots

  • Rose
  • Marigold
  • Sunflower
  • Tomatoes
  • Potatoes
  • Peas
  • Grapes etc.

Based on the above information, some of the key differences between monocots and dicots are as follows :


They have single embryonic leaf (single cotyledon).
They have two embryonic leaves (two cotyledons).

Flowers are trimerous, i.e. they are divided into 3 parts or components.
Flowers are tetramerous or pentamerous.

Vascular bundles are scattered throughout the stem.
Vascular bundles are arranged in rings or concentric circles around the periphery of the stem.

The roots do not develop form the radical so they are called adventitious roots.
The roots develop from the radical.

Pollen grain has only one pore.
3 pores are present in a single pollen grain.

Leaves have parallel venation, e.g. long and thin parallel veins.
Leaves have reticulate or branched venation, e.g. branched veins.

Leaf is sessile which means it lacks stalk, directly attached by its base.
Leaf has a stalk, attached by its stalk.

They generally have a weak stem.
They generally have a strong stem.

following subjectDifference between

← prev
next →